Coronavirus: Welsh Local Authorities

Local authorities in Wales have been given guidance by the Welsh Government on how to work with the private rented sector to cope with Covid-19. This guidance is publicly available in a short easy read here as is guidance for landlords, agents, and tenants. Here, you will be able to see how councils have been advised to enforce standards, deal with local licensing, inspect properties, enforce standards, and support landlords and tenants. Essentially, the advice can be surmised as councils should use their discretion to be pragmatic, prioritising only the most urgent cases. You can read more on the Rent Smart Wales website too.

Anglesey

Contactadrantai@ynysmon.gov.ukrevenue@anglesey.gov.uk

Advice pagesanglesey.gov.uk/en/Residents/Housing/Information-for-landlords/COVID-19-Advice-for-landlords.aspx

Blaenau Gwent

Contactenvironmental.health@blaenau-gwent.gov.uk

Advice pagesblaenau-gwent.gov.uk/en/resident/emergencies-crime-prevention/coronavirus-covid-19-latest-information/

Bridgend

Contacttalktous@bridgend.gov.ukhousingenforcement-cardiff-srswales@valeofglamorgan.gov.uk

Advice pagesbridgend.gov.uk/news/council-tax-deferment-plans/

Caerphilly

Contactcaerphilly.gov.uk/contact-us/General-enquiries/Housing-advice/Private-Sector-Housing.aspxcrm@caerphilly.gov.uk 

Advice pagescaerphilly.gov.uk/Services/Council-tax/Covid-19-Council-tax-support

Cardiff

Contacthousingenforcement-cardiff-srswales@valeofglamorgan.gov.ukHMOlicensing@Cardiff.gov.ukctax@cardiff.gov.uk

Advice pagescardiff.gov.uk/ENG/Your-Council/Strategies-plans-and-policies/Emergency-Planning-and-Resilience/coronavirus-information/Pages/default.aspx

Carmarthenshire

Contactdirect@carmarthenshire.gov.ukcounciltax@carmarthenshire.gov.uk.

Advice pagesnewsroom.carmarthenshire.gov.wales/2020/02/coronavirus-covid-19-guidance/

Ceredigion

Contacthousing@ceredigion.gov.ukclic@ceredigion.gov.uk

Advice pagesceredigion.gov.uk/resident/housing/housing-service-adjustments/ceredigion.gov.uk/business/covid-19-support-for-businesses-and-employers/ceredigion.gov.uk/resident/news/coronavirus-support-towards-paying-your-council-tax/

Conwy

Contactregulatoryservices@conwy.gov.ukhousingstrategy@conwy.gov.uk,

Advice pagesconwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Housing/Information-for-Landlords/Private-Tenancies-and-Covid-19.aspx

Denbighshire

Contactrevenues@denbighshire.gov.uk 

Advice pagesdenbighshire.gov.uk/en/resident/community-and-living/coronavirus/coronavirus.aspx

Flintshire

Contactlocal.taxation@flintshire.gov.ukflintshire.gov.uk/en/Resident/Contact-Us/General-Enquiries.aspx

Advice pagesflintshire.gov.uk/en/Home.aspx

Gwynedd

Contacttai@gwynedd.llyw.cymruTrethCyngor@gwynedd.llyw.cymru

Advice pagesgwynedd.llyw.cymru/en/Residents/Coronavirus-Covid-19-Council-Tax.aspxgwynedd.llyw.cymru/en/Businesses/Help,-support-and-training/Covid-19-Business-Support.aspx

Merthyr Tydfil

ContactHousing@merthyr.gov.ukmerthyr.gov.uk/resident/council-tax/council-tax-coronavirus-covid-19/contactuspage

Advice pagesmerthyr.gov.uk/resident/council-tax/council-tax-coronavirus-covid-19/

Monmouthshire

Contacthousingingsupportservice2@monmouthshire.gov.ukcounciltax@monmouthshire.gov.uk

Advice pagesmonmouthshire.gov.uk/council-tax-advice/

Neath Port Talbot

Contacthousing.strategy@neath-porttalbot.gov.ukhousing.benefits@npt.gov.ukehd@npt.gov.uk

Advice pagesnpt.gov.uk/22671npt.gov.uk/22552

Newport

Contactinfo@newport.gov.ukhmo@newport.gov.uk

Advice pagesnewport.gov.uk/en/Council-Democracy/Coronavirus-COVID-19.aspxnewport.gov.uk/en/Planning-Housing/Housing/Housing.aspx

Pembrokeshire

Contactenquiries@pembrokeshire.gov.uk

Advice pagespembrokeshire.gov.uk/coronavirus-advice-and-guidance/benefits-discounts-and-exemptions

Powys

Contactprivatesectorhousing@powys.gov.ukrevenues@powys.gov.uk

Advice pagesen.powys.gov.uk/coronavirus

Rhondda Cynon Taf

Contactpublichealthhousing@rhondda-cynon-taff.gov.ukpublichealthprojectsupport@rhondda-cynon-taff.gov.uk

Advice pagesrctcbc.gov.uk/EN/Resident/EmergenciesSafetyandCrime/InformationforResidentsCoronavirus/SupportforResidenceduringtheCoronavirus.aspx

Swansea

Contacthph@swansea.gov.ukcouncil.tax@swansea.gov.uk

Advice pagesswansea.gov.uk/coronavirusadviceswansea.gov.uk/privaterentedhousing

Torfaen

ContactPublic.Health@torfaen.gov.ukrevenues@torfaen.gov.uk

Advice pagestorfaen.gov.uk/en/AboutTheCouncil/Homepage-Stories/COVID-19-Coronavirus.aspx

Vale of Glamorgan

Contacthousingstrategy@valeofglamorgan.gov.ukcounciltax@valeofglamorgan.gov.ukhousingenforcement-cardiff-srswales@valeofglamorgan.gov.uk

Advice pagesvaleofglamorgan.gov.uk/en/our_council/press_and_communications/latest_news/2020/March/Coronavirus-Updates-2020.aspx

Wrexham

Contacthealthandhousing@wrexham.gov.uk

Advice pagesbeta.wrexham.gov.uk/service/covid-19-novel-coronavirus-informationbeta.wrexham.gov.uk/service/covid-19-coronavirus-help-your-council-tax