Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS)

What is the Housing Health and Safety Rating System?

The Housing Health & Safety Rating System (HHSRS) is the method by which local authority inspectors assess housing conditions in England and Wales.

Introduced in the Housing Act 2004, HHSRS is a risk-based system rather than a set of prescriptive standards that landlords must adhere to. Instead, if a local authority inspects your property they will use HHSRS to identify potential hazards and then use a points-based system to assess their severity. 

If the points-based system reveals a Category 1 hazard the local authority is under an obligation to take action to address it. If the hazard is rated as a Category 2 hazard the local authority may take action instead.

What is the purpose of the HHSRS?

The aim is to provide a method by which local authority inspectors can assess the risks from hazards in a property. Once identified, the local authority may then use their enforcement powers to address the identified hazards.

The key principle of the system is that a dwelling, including the structure and associated outbuildings and garden, yard and/or other amenity space and means of access, should provide a safe and healthy environment for the occupants and, by implication, for any visitors.

What is a hazard?

Members and guests only

The rest of this guide is available to anyone who has created a guest account on the NRLA site. Over the course of this guide we will discuss topics such as:

  • What is a HHSRS hazard?
  • How are inspections performed? 
  • How are hazards rated?
  • Enforcement and appeals
Log in to read this
Log In
Sign up for a free guest membership to read this
Sign Up

By signing up for a guest account you agree to us sending you emails about our own services e.g. new documents and guides, networking events, training courses, and commercial partner services. You can unsubscribe at any time.