Section 21 Notices

What we will cover:

  • The types of Section 21 notices and which one to use in which circumstance
  • The various rules of serving a Section 21 depending on tenancy type
  • How to complete a Section 21 notice in line with the legislation
  • How to serve a Section 21 notice to avoid delays
Who's it for?Landlords and Agents
CPD Points Awarded3 standard
From £24 for NRLA Members.
From £30 for non-members.
Prices include VAT
Remote Self study at your own pace
Duration: 3 hours
Members: £26
Non Members: £33


  • Which notice to use
  • How to complete a Section 21 notice
  • How to serve a Section 21 notice


When a landlord requires possession of their property the first and most critical step is to serve the tenant with notice. A Section 21 Housing Act 1988 notice is a 'no fault' way of obtaining possession from a shorthold tenant. However recent changes in legislation have made the service of this notice far more complex, with an increasing number of regulations that landlords must comply with to ensure the notice is valid. In addition, there are now several different rules depending on when the tenancy commenced and whether the property is in England or Wales. It is vital that the Section 21 is completed and served in the correct way; failure to do so will lead to the process having to start again, causing further delays in gaining possession.

This training course qualifies for 3 continuous professional development (CPD) point which can help towards or maintain your accreditation with the NRLA. If you are interested in becoming an accredited landlord with the NRLA, CPD points are necessary to achieve that status. 

NRLA Accreditation recognises landlords who have agreed to maintain professional standards in the management and maintenance of their rented property and deal fairly and professionally with their tenants. Accredited members demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of their responsibilities and obligations and strive to maintain, increase and improve their knowledge of the market through training and development. CPD points are awarded for all activities which improve those attributes and are a requisite of membership of the NRLA Accreditation Scheme.  

For more details visit the accreditation section on the website. 

Suitable for

  • New landlords who have yet to experience an end of tenancy
  • Landlords who have not executed possession proceedings for over a year
  • Landlords who have completed one of our principles course who wish to extend on their knowledge in this area
  • Landlords and agents who wish to increase their skills and knowledge