Fire Safety for Landlords

What we will cover:

  • The different building and property types and which pieces of legislation apply
  • Fire risk assessment requirements
  • Emergency Plans and Evacuation Strategies
  • The Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm (England) Regulations 2015
  • Practical tips on fire safety and with reference to the LACORS fire safety guide
  • When and how Building Regulations PART B apply to your properties
  • Furnishings (Fire) (Safety) Regulations 1988, amended 1989 and 1993 (FFFSR)
Who's it for?Landlords and Agents
CPD Points Awarded5 standard
£154 for NRLA Members.
From £175 for non-members.
Prices include VAT
Thursday 20th June 2024
Members: £154
Non Members: £199
Thursday 15th August 2024
Members: £154
Non Members: £199
Thursday 26th September 2024
Members: £154
Non Members: £199


Gain an understanding and practical knowledge of:

  • The Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) order 2005
  • The Management of Houses in Multiple Occupation (England) Regulations 2006
  • The Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm (England) Regulations 2006
  • Furnishings (Fire) (Safety) Regulations 1988, amended 1989 and 1993
  • Building Regulations Part B
  • The Housing Act 2004


The Grenfell Tower fire in June 2017 highlighted the importance of ensuring properties are properly risk assessed. The legislation on fire safety is complex with different buildings and property types being subject to different laws and regulations. This can leave landlords and letting agents unclear as to what fire safety precautions they must take. As a 'responsible person' you have a legal duty to keep your property safe from fire through the provisions of the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005. This course is designed to give you a complete guide to the relevant fire safety legislation you must comply with to keep tenants safe and gives you the practical skills in order to become accomplished at managing fire risk effectively.

This training course qualifies for 3 continuous professional development (CPD) points which can help towards or maintain your accreditation with the NRLA. If you are interested in becoming an accredited landlord with the NRLA, CPD points are necessary to achieve that status. 

NRLA Accreditation recognises landlords who have agreed to maintain professional standards in the management and maintenance of their rented property and deal fairly and professionally with their tenants. Accredited members demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of their responsibilities and obligations and strive to maintain, increase and improve their knowledge of the market through training and development. CPD points are awarded for all activities which improve those attributes and are a requisite of membership of the NRLA Accreditation Scheme.  

For more details visit the accreditation section on the website. 

Suitable for

•    All landlords whether they rent property as single dwellings, HMO or blocks.
•    All letting and managing agents
•    Block managers